🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

My Break-In Plan

Started by
21 comments, last by Tom Sloper 14 years, 3 months ago
I'm a writer, and I've always wanted to write for/direct a game. Unfortunately: a) I'm a crap artist, and my programming is rudimentary at best b) I get bogged down and/or frustrated by the minutiae of game development (like most writers, I'm a perfectionist control freak) c) Nobody wants to hire a game writer, since game designers either don't care about story, or think they can write it on the side, while juggling their other duties. So, my plan was always to write a popular novel, sell the film rights, and use that money to hire a team of the most talented amateurs I can find (hopefully most of 'em being so starstruck by my presence they'll be easy to swindle -- eh, I mean "convince" :P ). That way I can maintain creative control of the entire process, and the buzz from the movie would be like a massive, big-budget Hollywood advertisement campaign that I wouldn't pay a penny for. If the movie does decently enough in the box office, I could make the most experimental, ground-breaking indie game ever, and publishers would still be desperate to sign it on. Think it'll work? (In theory, I mean. There's probably 1000-to-1 odds on everything going as planned, but for the sake of argument, let's say I'm ridiculously lucky. Or I just try 1000 times.) I'm not the first person ever to think of making an indie game based on his/her own intellectual property (after it's been picked up by a Hollywood studio), am I? Are there any examples of this happening? The one potential flaw I see is concerning copyright issues. It might be hard to retain video game rights through all the negotiations. Think it would be a dealbreaker with most film companies? (Generic, cookie-cutter tie-in games being al