🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Do I need a degree?

Started by
18 comments, last by TheBuzzSaw 14 years, 3 months ago
I'm currently enrolled in community college, planning to transfer and get a 4 year computer science degree. I was under the impression a CS degree would be almost essential to be a successful game programmer. About four months ago I got an "internship" (they're calling it that but what it means is that I'm just too inexperienced for them to justify hiring me yet, but once I've worked there long enough I will be hired) at a successful independent game development studio as a programmer working on their map editor. None of the programmers there have a degree, and none of them recommend getting a degree. They are all self-taught. I'm self-taught as well, as the community college I attend doesn't offer any advanced courses, and school's teaching pace is far too slow for my patience. To further complicate matters, my "internship" is unpaid. I'm not eligible for any real financial aid because my crazy parents are semi-wealthy, but I do not live with them or receive any money from them. I make enough money doing freelance iphone apps to keep myself fed and keep my car running, but I can't afford college other than the damn-near-free community college I currently attend. One last issue I have with college is the courses. I will not learn anything from the actual computer courses I don't already know, I'm only attending to get a degree so that when/if this independent game studio lays me off/gets hit by a meteor/whatever I will be able to get an interview with another game studio. Also, while the computer courses are easy for me, advanced math is not. Calculus and on will be a nightmare for me, especially when combined with the 40-50 hours a week I'm working and the freelance work I do o