🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Is trying to get hired at a specific company bad ?

Started by
6 comments, last by frob 6 years, 11 months ago

I am a College Freshman so It seems early but I want to be prepared, I am interested in eventually working at Bungie, I will be taking classes for C++ in the fall and i am intrested it game development, I would be willing to work for other companies but my first priority would be to look to see if Bungie is hiring, is this a good idea or should I broaden my search once I graduate ?

Advertisement

Not bad at all, but companies like Bungie tend to hire people with industry experience. So, aim for getting a job first anywhere in the game industry. I am not saying your first job cannot be at Bungie, but if you have industry experience, the chances of you getting hired are high.

10 minutes ago, newtechnology said:

Not bad at all, but companies like Bungie tend to hire people with industry experience. So, aim for getting a job first anywhere in the game industry. I am not saying your first job cannot be at Bungie, but if you have industry experience, the chances of you getting hired are high.

Alright, seems like a good idea, if I get hired at say an Indie Studio, I might still browse for potential jobs at Bungie.

You shouldn't make your dream job your first interview. You should have several interviews before you interview at your dream job. And then you have to be prepared for the possibility of getting hired by one of those earlier jobs. Don't turn down perfectly good job offers just because you are waiting for the dream job offer that you might never get. 

Do you live within daily commuting distance of Bellevue WA? 

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

8 minutes ago, Tom Sloper said: