🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

who can give me any advice?

Started by
4 comments, last by Tom Sloper 14 years, 3 months ago
I am a c/c++ sofeware engineer for 6 years, and have a steady job. However, I love game, especially MMRPG game, such as ShadowBonw, WOW. I want to become a game developer or producer, what can I do? Do I need to continue to go back to school reading more books? I am Chinese, US is a sacred vedio game place in my mind, Which can give any points ? Who can recommend a better university or school for game developing?
Advertisement
Moved to the Breaking In forum.

Wielder of the Sacred Wands
[Work - ArenaNet] [Epoch Language] [Scribblings]

Here's how I did it:

1. Read lots of books; learned a lot about subjects I wasn't familiar with
2. Built a game demo in my spare time, where I applied the things I'd learned and put them into practice
3. Submitted applications to a whole load of studios
4. Eventually got hired!

I would definitely suggest building a demo to include with a resume. It goes a long way.
Have you tried applying for jobs in China? There are a few studios out there.

Steven Yau
[Blog] [Portfolio]

Quote: Original post by strtok
Here's how I did it:

1. Read lots of books; learned a lot about subjects I wasn't familiar with
2. Built a game demo in my spare time, where I applied the things I'd learned and put them into practice
3. Submitted applications to a whole load of studios
4. Eventually got hired!

I would definitely suggest building a demo to include with a resume. It goes a long way.

What strtok wrote is pretty good advice. Teaching yourself and use that knowledge to build a demo of some sort is very helpful, especially with 6 years of actual software engineering experience.