🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

First Steps

Started by
2 comments, last by Tom Sloper 14 years, 3 months ago
(TL;DR at bottom) I'm a high school student graduating this May. Originally, I wanted to pursue a career as an author, because I was always fond of writing stories, creating interesting characters, and weaving plots so (for lack of a better word) fun. I've been playing video games my entire life (my first word was me parroting the opening "Sega" when my brother would play Sonic the Hedgehog games), and I realized towards the middle of my Junior year that writing on paper was good, but that the type of responses I wanted to evoke, the type of journey that I wanted to take my audience on, would be much better rendered in the medium of a video game. I think, at a point, I knew that the entire time. But I was born into a family of skeptics who frequently told me there was no future in games. It wasn't until my Junior year that I realized they were wrong, and that it was something I really wanted. So I called a bunch of the big game companies (EA and Activision, for starters), and asked what they thought about people who wanted to get into the industry. To be honest, the people I spoke to were unenthusiastic, to put it mildly. So I stopped barking up that tree. I have a loose path in my head right now, but I've been second-guessing it endlessly since I haven't had an outside influence that knows the industry to guide me towards the right path. My goal is to become a creative lead on a game design team, and build some plots that will intrigue and immerse gamers. The only problem is that I really don't know what to do when I graduate. Is there any advice someone here can offer a spirited youth to make his way in the tumultuous industry that is game design? (TL;DR) I'm graduating high school in