🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Architects!

Started by
4 comments, last by Kwizatz 14 years, 3 months ago
Hi, I'm an architecture major in Boston. Since the economy has kind of died and jobs are hard to come by, a lot of architects are finding jobs in other fields. I was wondering (don't worry, I'm not some delusional guy who's life's dreams are based on this) if the video game industry ever hires anyone with a degree in architecture. I know that the movie industry does it a lot now, especially for those LOTR-esque movies where worlds need to essentially be built, but I wasn't sure if its something the video game industry does. If so, do people usually have a masters degree in some kind of programming field? As an architecture student I've been doing a lot of 3D modeling and lots of design theory. Anway, like I said I was just wondering. You never know what you could end up doing.
Advertisement
I guess the closest match in gaming would be a 'level designer'. Things that a level designer might do in a typical job:

- Use a 3D modelling tool like Max / Maya / XSI to build untextured 3D environments ("grey block level")

- Add game-specific data to the level, such as player start locations, powerups, scripted event locations, etc.

- Work in tandem with an environment artist, who will add a good looking art mesh based on your design mesh. Your 'grey block' mesh will probably be used as the collision information for the level, which will sometimes differ a LOT from the art mesh.

- Write the script that controls how your level reacts to the player's interactions. For instance, when the player walks into a specific area, you may want to start a cutscene. Level designers are often responsible for the camera setup and timing.

Other things: